Another trip home is in the books. These three weeks have been extremely busy but I wouldn’t change it for the world. I had the opportunity to spend time with friends, family and be a tourist in Portland, again. When I had to leave in early December to come home, I swore this was going to be the longest three weeks of my life since I was going to be away from my Ellensburg family. It went ridiculously fast, which I am slightly grateful for but there really is no place like home.

Spending time at home always makes me appreciate school a little more. It’s not that I don’t love home and the people here, I miss the independence. At school, I can do what I want, when I want, with who I want. I go to bed at 3am, record friends going into the frozen ganges (not smart), and take many L’s. I’m used it to it probably more than I should be which makes coming home a little harder for me. It felt weird telling my parents when I was going to be home and who I was going to hang out with. For a few days it felt like they were invading my space and I was like “OMG.. who do they think they are..?” but I get it. It’s hard for parents to have their babies grow up and it’s hard for the “babies” to understand our parents sometimes.

Coming home for Christmas meant that I was going to be 15 minutes away from my best friends instead of being hours away which was super exciting. Being with Keeli and Maya felt like we had never been separated for so long. It was like we never left each other and we had left off where we were in high school. Our spontaneous adventures entailed many laughs, eye rolls, and runs to Dutch Bros. It was also so nice visiting with the Paginton family and laughing super hard like always. Plus, going “treat yo’ self” crazy in Ulta with Emily was a treat. It felt like nothing had changed at all! And Jordyn.. Oh golly, we always seem to laugh way harder than we should have. A few mall trips, a trip to IKEA, a gingerbread house disaster made it a great trip home.

Having two very energetic and fun families makes holidays that much more special. I love being with all my cousins and laughing about nearly everything. It was also really nice spending quality time with my parents and siblings since I never get to see them anymore since they’re so far away. Hallie was sassy as always. Tucker was informing me on how terrible I am at COD. Teagan was giving attitude like it was going out of style. Easton was Snapchatting his break away along with getting lots of steps thanks to his new FitBit.

Tomorrow, I am headed back to Ellensburg. I am very excited to see my best friends, my roomie, and start school again. I hate that I have to wait so long to see my family and best friends, but I know it will only be a matter of weeks. I can’t even express how excited I am to be back in the groove of things in the Burg. I am so thankful that CWU feels so much like home and so grateful to have an opportunity to be a student there. I am going to be very busy this quarter but I am looking forward to the challenge of it.

Thank you everyone for making this such a great trip home. I will see you all very soon. Ellensburg, I can’t wait to see ya.

